Tuesday, April 19, 2022

Via Lucis - a Stations-based Devotion for Easter

You have probably heard of the Stations of the Cross, a devotion that follows Jesus’ passion, death and burial.

But have you ever heard of the Stations of the Resurrection? 

The Stations of the Resurrection or the ‘Way of Light’ (Via Lucis) journeys through the events after Jesus’s Resurrection and His appearances to His disciples, until the coming of the Holy Spirit.

This devotion was inspired by a 3rd century inscription found in the San Callisto Catacombs in Rome. Based on this inscription, Salesian priest Father Sabino Palumbieri formed the Stations of the Resurrection in the 1990s. The devotion was formally recognized in the Vatican’s Directory on Popular Piety and the Liturgy in 2001.

It takes the form of a journey, similar to the Stations of the Cross. Likewise, there are also 14 stations in the ‘Way of Light’:
  1. Jesus Rises from the Dead
  2. The Finding of the Empty Tomb
  3. The Risen Lord Appears to Mary Magdalene
  4. Jesus Appears on the Road to Emmaus
  5. Jesus is Known at the Breaking of Bread
  6. Jesus Appears to His Disciples in Jerusalem
  7. Jesus Gives the Disciples the Power to Forgive Sins
  8. Jesus Strengthens the Faith of Thomas
  9. Jesus Appears by the Sea of Tiberias
  10. Jesus Tells Peter to Feed His Sheep
  11. Jesus Commissions the Disciples on the Mountain
  12. Jesus Ascends into Heaven
  13. Mary and the Disciples Wait in Prayer 
  14. The Holy Spirit Descends at Pentecost
The Stations of the Resurrection is a joyful way to celebrate the glorious Resurrection of Jesus and is a great complement to the more sorrowful Stations of the Cross. It is ideal for the Easter Season but may be used on any other occasions to encounter the Risen Christ!

Excerpt from the Happy Saints Easter eBook

Use promo code EASTER20 through April 25, 2022 to save 20% on all Happy Saints ebooks this Easter Octave! Shop at www.happysaints.com